What is the Safe Homes Act of Illinois?

What is the Safe Homes Act of Illinois?

What is it? 

The Safe Homes Act is an Illinois law that allows victims of domestic or sexual violence to end their rental lease early and leave their home to protect their physical safety and emotional well being. It does not matter if the lease is written or oral. In certain circumstances, victims can also request an emergency lock change to keep the abuser out of the home.

Before this law was enacted, a woman who was raped by an unknown assailant in her home could not end her lease early, and a victim of domestic violence could not change her locks to prevent her abusive boyfriend from re-entering her apartment.

What is its purpose?

To recognize that survivors of domestic and dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking face particularly dangerous and emotionally draining situations as well as economic consequences when they are trapped in rental housing that jeopardizes their physical safety or emotional well being.

Who can benefit? 

Anyone, including children, who lives in private rental housing or subsidized housing, including "Section 8" Housing Choice Vouchers who has been or would be the victim of domestic violence, dating violence, stalking, sexual assault or sexual abuse. The Safe Homes Act does not cover residents who live in public housing.

    • Related Articles

    • How to use the Safe Homes Act to Change Your Locks

      Tenants who are victims of domestic or sexual violence can also obtain emergency lock changes. The right to a lock change differs depending on the type of lease and if the abuser is named on the lease. For tenants with a written lease where the ...
    • What is the Adult Protective Services Act?

      The Adult Protective Services Act assures local agencies funded by the Illinois Department on Aging offer help to persons age 60 and older who may be abused, neglected, abandoned, or exploited by family, household members, or caregivers. Any person ...
    • What is classified as Abuse under the Illinois Domestic Violence Act?

      The IDVA defines abuse, and further defines many of the terms that are used to define abuse. Abuse includes: Physical abuse Knowing or reckless use of physical force, confinement or restraint Knowing, repeated and unnecessary sleep deprivation ...
    • What Counties does Speak Out Illinois Serve/Cover?

      Speak Out Illinois LLC covers Peoria, Tazewell, Woodford, Fulton, Livingston, McLean, Sangamon, LaSalle, Stark and Champaign Counties in the State of Illinois. ** Crisis Response Services are available only for Peoria, Tazewell and Woodford Counties ...
    • What Crisis Services does Speak Out Illinois Provide?

      Our Agents are trained to Provide Resources within the Community. We provide Safety Planning, Emotional Support, Assist with Orders of Protection (If Available), Process Referrals, Dispatch Emergency Services and More.